The School of Law and Economics with its two initial departments of Law and of Economics & Political Science was among the first five Schools of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH). The foundation year of the department of Economics & Political Science was the academic year 1927-28 (19th November 1927) and that of the School of Law the academic year 1930-31. Nowadays, the School is renamed into School of Law, Economics and Political Science (NOPΕ) and has three separate departments: the Department of Law, the Department of Economics and the Department of Political Science.

The AUTH is the largest university in Greece and it is located in the center of the city Thessaloniki covering an area of about 430 thousand square meters. It contains 10 Schools and five independent Departments. In the 38 Departments of the University, some of which are unique in Greece, there are about 42 thousand (active) students. The teaching and research staff (professors, associate professors, assistant professors and lecturers) are about 1760. In addition to them, there are 160 adjunct lecturers, 450 teaching assistants and 200 postgraduate students that hold scholarships. The academic and administrative work is assisted by 600 more members of specialized technical laboratory staff (ETEP) and 850 administrative staff.